Our story begins in 1955 when Rev. Robert J. Graham, pastor of Immaculate Conception Church from 1938 until 1956, had an inspiration to build a parish elementary school. On September 8, 1955, ground for the school was broken. Unfortunately, Father Graham died six months later and never saw his dream realized. His successor, Rev. Eugene B. Kelly, worked diligently to raise funds to complete construction and to find a religious order of sisters to staff the school.
In February of 1957, Father Kelly wrote to Mother Maria Pacis, Mother General of the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary in West Chester, PA. The community responded generously by sending four sisters to Somerville, including our first principal, Mother M. Vincentia, IHM. This devotion by the sisters to ICS continues to this day and has been an important part of our history.
ICS opened its doors to about 300 students on September 4, 1957. Enrollment grew steadily and by 1965, the school had reached its goal of two classes at each grade level, with a total enrollment of 600 students. Today, the school's enrollment remains steady with slightly under 500 students.
Over the years, the physical aspects of ICS have changed to keep pace with the needs of its students. Our first center opened during the 1980s, the construction of the kindergarten wing and music room were completed in 1998, the science lab opened in 2002, and the Kennedy Library underwent an extensive renovation in 2005.
Immaculate Conception School's future is bright. The vision of those who first had the dream, together with the careful planning of those who have nurtured it along the way, have combined to create the vibrant school community that exists today. Under the patronage of Mary our Mother, Immaculate Conception School remains committed to developing the spiritual, academic and emotional dimensions of each of our students.